OH HEY! Figured out how to post;)
First off, Filipino sa kapurihan magpakailanman!!! That means Filipino pride foreverrr! So sad that I even though I'm 100% Filipino, I had to google translate that:( Wish I was fluent in Tagalog.
ANYWAYS! Lost in Shangri-La= great book. Usually I hate books based on history and wars and all that jazz, but I'm hooked on this one! Like Mike and Elliot both said, I like how Zuckoff explains each character to the point of me feeling like I've known them my whole life. When I reached the part in the book about the crash scene, I actually got really depressed. I had just been introduced to the character and gotten to know their personal life only to have them die in their "forced landing." So sad. Another thing I like about the book is that there are pictures. Just when you think this story can't possibly be true, Zuckoff has the pictures to prove it! Also, I agree with Elliot in that I find it interesting how they explained the whole culture of the natives. Learning about other cultures is always fun to me, so the Uwambo chapter was very fun to read. I tried out the language too...Nit ahkuni Niantic aka We are the people of the Niantic River. Aw yea.
Well got a little carried away on the blogging here! Guess I'm just excited I actually found out how to post haha. Well I'm going to go back to reading! Hopefully McCollom, Maggie, and Decker's first encounter with the natives isn't a bloody one :/
BTW Soph, Elliot, and Mike...Hal-loak-nak ...except probably not eat your feces.. :)